Cerebral Fix are a Thrash Metal band who were active between 1986 – 1993 and from 2006 – present. Members have included Gregg Fellows, Simon Forrest, Frank Healy, Tony Warburton, Paul Adams, Andy Baker, Nicholas Barker, Kev Frost, Adrian Jones, Jake Morgan and Steve Watson.

Formed in Birmingham in 1986 they became members of the UK thrash metal and death metal scenes through four albums, three of which were on major labels before finally disbanding in 1993. In 2006, the band announced its reformation.

History 1986–1988
The band were initially Simon Forrest on vocals, Gregg Fellows on guitar, Adrian Jones on drums and Paul Adams on bass. After successful demos in 1987, entitled We Need Therapy and Product of Disgust, the band secured a record deal with independent London-based label, Vinyl Solution. Paul Adams then left the band and formed a band called Reprisal, which later went on to become Benediction. His replacement was Steve Watson, and the band entered the Loco Studio in Usk, South Wales to record their first album, Life Sucks… And Then You Die!, which was released in 1988.

The band promoted this album by touring the UK with bands such as Bolt Thrower, Deviated Instinct, Doom, Electro Hippies, Hellbastard, and Hard-Ons – all fairly prominent members of the emerging death metal, crust punk, and hardcore punk scenes. The album gained further exposure by having several tracks played on BBC Radio 1’s John Peel show – Peel himself being somewhat of a champion for eclectic music styles.

In 1989, the band recorded two songs for Sounds magazine and a compilation album which was never released. Adrian Jones and Steve Watson left the band and ex-Sacrilege members, Frank Healy and Andy Baker, joined the band which then went on to record a new demo, entitled Tower of Spite. The demo eventually resulted in them winning a contract with Roadrunner Records – a well-known record label specialising in heavy metal and especially the popular thrash metal subgenre. To announce the deal, Roadrunner Records set up a supporting slot for the band with Sepultura at The Marquee Club in London. Tony Warburton played a cover version of a Discharge song with the main act.

In 1990, the album Tower of Spite was released. It was recorded at Rhythm Studios in Leamington Spa with Paul Johnson producing. This set-up continued for all the band’s albums to date. To support the album, the band toured with Napalm Death after which Andy Baker decided to retire. Kev Frost, formerly of Metal Messiah, joined the band and they went on to tour the Netherlands.

In 1991, the band’s third album, Bastards, was released – again on Roadrunner Records, and with guest vocals by Blaze Bayley. A tour with American death metal band, Obituary, followed.

In 1992, the band’s fourth and final album to date, Death Erotica was released – this time on Music For Nations and were joined by members of Napalm Death and Pop Will Eat Itself from nearby Birmingham, who supplied guest vocals on various tracks.

To support the album, the band toured with doom metal band, Paradise Lost. However, shortly after, Frank Healy and Gregg Fellows left the band – the former to play with Benediction. For the European leg of the tour with Cancer, the band enlisted the services of Discharge bass player, Jake Morgan, and original Cerebral Fix member, Steve Watson who took up guitar duties this time round. Returning to the UK for another tour, Gregg Fellows rejoined the band and Nicholas Barker of Dimmu Borgir and Cradle of Filth temporarily filled in on drums. The band split, however, in 1993.

In 2006, the band – with four original members – announced a reunion and the intention to record again in the near future.

On 9 May 2008, Cerebral Fix announced that Frank Healy had left Cerebral Fix as he was busy with his other band, Benediction. Scott Fairfax was later announced as the band’s new bass player on 24 June 2008. In 2009 drummer Neil Farrington passed away and in 2013 the band announced they were reforming with original bassist Steve Watson and drummer Andy Baker joining Gregg Fellows,, Tony Warburton, and Simon Forrest.

We Need Therapy (1987) Demo
Product of Disgust (1987) Demo
Life Sucks… And Then You Die! (1988) Vinyl Solution
Tower of Spite (1990) Demo
Tower of Spite (1990) Roadrunner Records
Bastards (1991) Roadrunner Records
Death Erotica (1992) Music For Nations/Under One Flag