News Stories

Back Street Slide

Back Street Slide at The Railway

‘Back Street Slide’ at The Railway, Curzon Street.
Nigel Jones, Terry Biddulph, Trish Hathaway, Mark Stevens, Keith Jones & Dick Shaw.


L- R Paul Harris (guitar), Matthew Edwards (vocals), Tina Adams (synth), Martin Recci (bass). Nigel Collis (drums) not visible in this shot.


Dance at the Fighting Cocks March 1980:

Dance at Fighting Cocks 1980

Tea & Symphony


Tea & Symphony 1971 via Pete Chatfield

Tea and Symphony was a British musical group of the late 1960s and early 1970s whose style may be described as “progressive folk”. From Birmingham, they recorded two albums for Harvest Records, had one track, “Maybe My Mind (With Egg)”, included on the Harvest sampler Picnic – A Breath of Fresh Air, toured Britain with Bakerloo (Blues Line) and were guests on John Peel’s BBC radio programme.

The group was generally a trio, though sometimes supplemented by extra musicians. Members included Jeff Daw (vocal, guitar, flute), James Langston (guitar, vocal), Nigel Phillips (keyboards, vocal, percussion, left 1969), Dave Carroll (guitar, bass, violin, vocals, joined 1970, left 1971), Bob Wilson (guitar, keyboards, joined 1969, left 1971) Peter ‘Chatters’ Chatfield (drums, joined 1970, left 1972), Tom Bennison (bass guitar, French horn, joined & left 1970), Mick Barker (drums, joined 1971), and Stewart Johnson (guitars, vocal, joined 1971).[1] Steve Eaves is another former alumnus.



An Asylum for the Musically Insane

LP Harvest SHVL 761 (1969)

  1. “Armchair Theatre” – 3:54
  2. “Feel How So Cool The Wind” – 3:19
  3. “Sometime” – 4:14
  4. “Maybe My Mind (With Egg)” (Jeff Daw) – 3:42
  5. “The Come On” – 4:30
  6. “Terror In My Soul” (Jeff Daw, Nigel Phillips) – 6:06
  7. “Travelling Shoes” (Fred Neil) – 4:25
  8. “Winter” (James Langston) – 3:19
  9. “Nothing Will Come To Nothing” (Nigel Phillips) – 6:12

(All tracks written by Jeff Daw except where noted.)


  • Jeff Daw – lead guitar, flute, triangle, vocals
  • James Langston – lead vocals, rhythm guitar, kazoo, bells, cymbal
  • Nigel Phillips – drums, recorder, mandolin, organ, piano, vocals


  • Mick Hincks – bass (05)
  • Bob Lamb – drums (05)
  • Clem Clempson – lead guitar (05)
  • Ron Chesterman – bass (07)
  • Gus Dudgeon – percussion, producer[2][3]

Jo Sago

LP Harvest SHVL 785 (1970)

  • 1) Jo Sago – A Play On Music (Jeff Daw) including;
  • a. “Miniature” – 2:01
  • b. “Nyada” – 4:06
  • c. “Journey” – 1:19
  • d. “Brother” – 3:51
  • e. “Africa Paprika” – 3:29
  • f. “Fairground Suite” – 2:25
  • g. “Desperate Oil” – 5:53
  • h. “Umbilical Bill” – 0:51
  • i. “Goodnight” – 3:33
  • 2) “Try Your Luck” (Nigel Phillips) – 3:18
  • 3) “Yourself” (James Langston) – 3:28
  • 4) “Green Fingered” – Redhanded (Jeff Daw) – 0:54
  • 5) “Seasons Turn To One” (Jeff Daw) – 3:04
  • 6) “View To The Sky” (James Langston) – 2:41
  • 7) “The Nortihorticulturalist” (Nigel Phillips) – 3:26
  • 8) “Dangling” (Bob Wilson) – 0:59


  • James Langston – lead vocals, acoustic & 12-string guitars, percussion
  • Jef Daw – acoustic, electric & 12-string guitars, bass guitar, percussion, flute, backing vocals
  • Bob Wilson – piano, organ, harpsichord, acoustic, electric & 12-string guitars, bass guitar, percussion, backing vocals
  • Nigel Phillips – drums
  • Mick Hincks – guitar.

Produced by Tony Cox


Info available under CC []



Phoenix: formed by Rick Jones of Scarlet Fantastic. Line up Rick, Amanda Porter and Richard Porter via Mike Davies



RumbleFish press shot. Via Mike Davies


Rumblefish were a UK indie pop group, formed in Birmingham in 1986. After several releases on independent labels they were signed by East West who issued the band’s only album while still together in 1992.

The band was formed in 1986 with a line-up of Jeremy Paige (vocals, guitar), Dominic Crane (guitar, keyboards), Phil Edwards (bass guitar), and Rupert Knowlden (drums). Their first release was the track “Theatre King” on the Pink Label’s Beauty compilation. The band had an Indie hit single with “Tugboat Line” in 1987 followed by releases on Summerhouse Records (“Medicine” in 1988 and “Don’t Leave Me” in 1989). The band signed to Atlantic Records imprint East West Records in 1991, releasing a self-titled album in 1992. A retrospective album of early singles called 1234 The Early Singles was released in 2006. Several tracks were also included on compilations (BeautyIt Sells or it SmellsThe Sound Of Leamington Spa Vol. 6). Members of the band went on to form Low Art Thrill.


Chart placings shown are from the UK Indie Chart.[3]


  • “Tug Boat Line” (1987) Pink Label (#34)
  • “Medicine” (1988) Summerhouse
  • “Don’t Leave Me” (1988) Summerhouse
  • “Everything Electrical” (1992) East West America
  • “Mexico” (1992) WEA


Rumblefish (1992) East West America

  • 1234 – The Early Singles (2006) Summerhouse


[info available under CC license]


The brilliant and much missed Delta. Press/label release. Via Mike Davies.



This Moseley, Birmingham, England-based band remains one of the best kept secrets on the UK independent music scene. Delta was formed in 1993 by James Roberts (b. 4 March 1970, West Bromwich, West Midlands, England; guitar/vocals), Patrick Roberts (b. 1972, West Midlands, England; drums/vocals) and Robert Cooksey (b. 14 November 1969, Solihull, West Midlands, England; guitar), who had previously played together in cult indie band the Sea Urchins. Adding Bird (b. 1972, England; drums) and John Alford (b. 1977, England; bass), they debuted with the 10-inch single ‘Sugared-Up’ on the Che label. Three singles for Dishy Records followed before the band signed to the Acid Jazz Records subsidiary Focus. This move effectively put the band’s career on hold for almost five years, with no material being released. They eventually broke free of the contract, returning to early supporters Dishy. Laughing Mostly, a compilation of EP tracks and demos recorded between 1994 and 1997, finally saw the light of day in 1999. Cooksey was subsequently replaced by keyboard player Louis J. Clark, the son of noted arranger Louis Clark who collaborated with Jeff Lynne on most of ELO’s albums. The band’s debut album proper, Slippin’ Out, was recorded at UB40’s studios and utilised horns and a string section to augment the Roberts brothers’ classic pop songs. The follow-up was originally slated for release on a major label, but the band’s run of bad luck continued when they were dropped following a management reshuffle. Hard Light was eventually released on the band’s own label.


[info from: ]

Table Scraps


Table Scraps, Scruffy Murphy’s 01/06/13 via Paul Harris

Band Members: Scott Vincent Abbott (guitar/vocals,) Poppy Twist (drums/vocals)

Send your content to us

We are now actively looking for content for the archive and will always add content that you send to us. The archive is a labour of love and we update it in our spare time.