Duran’s first gig upstairs at the Communist book shop in Birmingham at a club called The Star Club

Duran Duran were created by Andy Wicketts, Nick Rhodes, John Taylor and Stephen Duffy, with the later addition of Roger Taylor, Andy Taylor, and Simon Le Bon, though none of the Taylors are related. The group has never disbanded, but the line-up has changed to include guitarist Warren Cuccurullo from 1986 to 2001, and drummer Sterling Campbell from 1989 to 1991. The reunion of the original five members in the early 2000s created a stir among the band’s fans and music media. Andy Taylor left the band in summer 2006, and London guitarist Dom Brown has been working with the band since.

Duran Duran were one of the most commercially successful of the new romantic bands and a leading band in the MTV-driven “Second British Invasion” of the United States. Since the 1980s they have placed 21 singles in the Billboard Hot 100 and 14 in the Top 10 of the UK Singles Chart, and have sold more than 100 million records.

A selection of the band’s hit singles from the 1980s include, “Girls on Film”, “Rio”, “Hungry Like the Wolf”, “Save a Prayer”, “Notorious”, and the James Bond theme “A View to a Kill”. In the early 1990s, the band released, “Ordinary World” and “Come Undone”, and released “Sunrise”, and “What Happens Tomorrow” in the 2000s. “Falling Down” was released from their 2007 album, Red Carpet Massacre.


* Duran Duran (1981)
* Rio (1982)
* Seven and the Ragged Tiger (1983)
* Notorious (1986)
* Big Thing (1988)
* Liberty (1990)
* Duran Duran (The Wedding Album) (1993)
* Thank You (1995)
* Medazzaland (1997)
* Pop Trash (2000)
* Astronaut (2004)
* Red Carpet Massacre (2007)

Special Thanks to Keith Law at unsignedcity.com for content.