Named ‘Balls’ by ex-Move guitarist Trevor Burton as a cheeky publicity stunt, the band originally consisted of:

*Trevor Burton (vocal, guitar) born Trevor Iresin on 9 March 1944, Aston Birmingham
*Steve Gibbons (vocal, harmonica) from Harbourne, Birmingham
*Keith Smart (drums)
*Denny Laine (bass guitar, vocal)

Trevor left The Move and teamed up with The Ugly’s frontman, Steve Gibbon and drummer Keith Smart together with the Moody Blues’ ex-singer/guitarist Denny Laine to form the new band, Balls.

Managed by Tony Secunda, the group gathered at a cottage on the Berkshire Downs with Traffic’s producer, Jimmy Miller to start recording whilst playing local gigs.

Former Uglys members, Richard Tandy and Dave Morgan (future ELO members) joined Balls for a period of time. As did ex Spooky Tooth drummer Mike Kellie, who replaced Keith Smart when he left to join Mongrel (and then Wizzard). Mike was later replaced by Alan White, a former member of John Lennon’s Plastic Ono Band.

Tony Secunda went on to manage Marc Bolan and Balls dispersed shortly after.

This was a shame since Balls only record release, the single ‘Fight For My Country’ (1971) showed the groups obvious potential.

Steve went on to join Idle Race which eventually became the Steve Gibbons Band. Trevor eventually joined Steve and the group enjoyed a hit single with, ‘Tulane’ in addition to touring America in 1976. Trevor continues to play at venues around Birmingham with his own band.

Denny joined Ginger Baker’s Airforce, later becoming a founding member of Wings with Paul and Linda McCartney which became an international success. Denny also co-wrote the song, ‘Mull Of Kintyre’ with Paul McCartney which became one of the biggest selling U.K. hits of all time.